T-Dub Tastes Victory at Arizona Speedway To Kick Off the 2019 Arizona Modified Tour

Ward stands in victory lane with his family.

By Jackson Braun

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. (February 8, 2019) – An action-packed night of racing at the 1/3 mile speedplant was capped off by a first-time winner in Arizona Mod Tour action as Arizona native and Iowa transplant Tim Ward bested the field of 26 stout IMCA Modified drivers.

Robert Hellebust and Joey Price led the Modified field to green for 25 trips around the track. Hellebust jumped out to an early lead, but a caution reset the field back to square one.

Once again, Hellebust got the jump on the restart, but Bobby Hogge challenged early on. After a few laps of battling, Hellebust started to pull away.

Tim Ward started 11th on the field and had already made his way up into the top 5 within a few laps. He got past Hogge quickly and set his sights on Hellebust. About 10 laps into the 25-lapper, the 4TW of Ward started slicing and dicing alongside Hellebust. With 13 laps to go, Ward secured the pass and set sail. Ward, Hellebust, and Cody Laney started to settle into their respective podium positions.

Ward and Hellebust started to encounter lapped traffic when the second caution flag waved. A heartbreaking moment occured for the 9H machine of Hellebust, as he brought out the caution by smacking the frontstretch wall.

With the field reset with 6 laps to go, Ward once again started to run away while Hogge moved comfortably into 2nd. Laney, Ricky Thornton Jr, and Defending champion Hunter Marriott exchanged sliders behind them on track. With 2 to go, Laney took his 5L machine off the track after running in the top 5 most of the race.

Ward cruised to victory by an almost 3 second advantage over Hogge. Marriott, Thornton, and Jason Hughes rounded out the Top 5.

Ethan Braaksma and Justin Svoboda lead the Northern SportMod field to the green flag. A handful of yellow flags early on shook the field up a bit, but Braaksma was not phased. After every restart, he took a commanding lead and dominated the race. A few cautions late tried to thwart his winning plans, but Braaksma led from the green flag to the checkered. Brady Bjella got up to 2nd place early on and faced a challenge from Chase Rudolf near the end. Bjella hung on to 2nd, with Rudolf 3rd and Fred Ryland squeaking out a 4th place finish over Cole Carver.

92 IMCA Modifieds (a new Tour record) and 37 IMCA Northern SportMods checked into the pit gate.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Tim Ward, Harcourt, Iowa; 2. Bobby Hogge, Salinas, Calif.; 3. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 4. Ricky Thornton Jr., Clive, Iowa; 5. Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.; 6. Dylan Goplen, Fargo, N.D.; 7. Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 8. Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; 9. Drew Armstrong, Benton, Ark.; 10. Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa; 11. Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump, Nev.; 12. Alex Stanford, Chowchilla, Calif.; 13. Ross McCartney, Lahoma, Okla.; 14. Casey Arneson, Fargo, N.D.; 15. Eddie Kirchoff, Gillette, Wyo.; 16. Kody Scholpp, Estevan, Sask.; 17. Joey Price, Great Falls, Mont.; 18. Kelsie Foley, Tucson; 19. Spencer Wilson, Minot, N.D.; 20. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.; 21. Cody Laney, Torrance, Calif.; 22. Robert Hellebust, Minot, N.D.; 23. Bubba Stafford, Wittmann; 24. Travis Denning, Sterling, Ill.; 25. J.P. Dowell, Killeen, Texas; 26. Jeff Larson, Freeport, Ill.

Northern SportMods – 1. Ethan Braaksma, Newton, Iowa; 2. Brady Bjella, Williston, N.D.; 3. Chase Rudolf, Prole, Iowa; 4. Fred Ryland, Brentwood, Calif.; 5. Cole Carver, Apache Junction; 6. Justin Svoboda, David City, Neb.; 7. Ryan Moser, Englewood, Colo.; 8. Kelly Jacobson, Fargo, N.D.; 9. Mark Harrison, Coolidge; 10. Jake McBirnie, Boone, Iowa; 11. Matthew Mayo, Bakersfield, Calif.; 12. Kevin Johnson, Bakersfield, Calif., 13. David Jones, Chandler; 14. Brian Osantowski, Columbus, Neb.; 15. Patti Ryland, Brentwood, Calif.; 16. Shelby Frye, Casa Grande; 17. Tate Johnson, Homestead, Mont.; 18. Keith Brown Jr., Pittsburg, Calif.; 19. Bryan Moreland, Durango, Iowa; 20. Arie Schouten, Blair, Neb.; 21. Jacob Madrid, Phoenix; 22. Bo Partain, Casa Grande; 23. Jim Horejsi, Marshall, Minn.; 24. Ty Rogers, Somerton; 25. Taylor Kuehl, Cave Creek.